Minestrone soup

Standard

In between all that scribbling in November I decided I had to eat something healthier than baked potatoes and cheese toasties – bring on the soup! The weather’s really turned chilly, too, making it the season for a hot bowl of broth 🙂

Now, I’ve never been a fan of minestrone – until now! – but since I had tins of tomatoes needing used soon, I went searching for a likely recipe. Ms Lawson may be in the news for less than great reasons right now, but my take on her Minestrone recipe has converted me! The smallish-batch saw me through at least one healthy meal most days for a week, and I’m about to go make more 🙂

Serves 4-6

1 finely chopped onion
1 clove crushed garlic
1 tin chopped tomatoes
1 bay leaf
½ teaspoon dried herbs: oregano, basil, or italian seasoning
pinch dried rosemary
1 finely diced pepper, mixed colours for presentation
½ a carrot, cut into very fine batons
‘some’ shredded cabbage
1 tin beans – cannellini, for instance
1 ½ pints stock
2 tablespoons tomato puree
1 oz spaghetti (broken into 1cm pieces)
1 good sprinkling of celery salt
1 tablespoon soy sauce
freshly ground black pepper

If you like, soften the onion (and garlic) first – I prefer to just bung everything in and not need to use oil.

So, leaving out the soy sauce and spaghetti, bring everything else to the boil then cover and simmer for 40 minutes – seems like a long time, but I suspect it was why this tasted so good!

Then add the spaghetti and soy sauce (! but trust me, go with it!) and cook for a final 15 minutes, uncovered, before serving.

Leave a Reply

