Cooking Experiments, 2011

Standard

Cooking is a great combination of creative and practical – and one of my scanner ‘projects’: to try new food, to improve my skills. As prompted by someone organised, here’s a note of 2011’s new recipes:

Roasted Root Veg Cobbler

Have made this a couple of times now, with varying results – largely due to messing about with quantities to make this just for one. First time was gorgeous, but I had put in more than half the tin of condensed soup – and not sure I was ‘meant’ to be using a creamy one, although it was gooooood! – and it did get a bit sickly near the end! I struggled a bit with the roasting of the veg (tried to do it in the casserole dish, to less success) and wasn’t sure if I was meant to leave the remaining stock in with the veg – probably, to dilute that soup!root veg cobbler

Second time I tried to cut corners and pre-boil rather than roast the veg: between that and the lower soup quantity, the flavour really did suffer.

The real surprise win from this though was that cobbler recipe! Mine was entirely gloopy-sticky so I really didn’t think it was going to work too well – but it did, and it was yum! Really light – I did try and stretch it relatively thinly over the top – and with the herbs it added a lot of flavour to the whole dish. Best bit of it!

Recommended as a healthy and actually not too time-consuming yummy meal.

Liven Yourself Up Lentil Soup

… an okay-ish lentil soup. I jazzed mine up a bit and it was still only okay. End result wasn’t exactly liquid enough to be soup (the lentils I chose didn’t mush, either) but it feels uber-healthy and wasn’t as bad as my haphazard spicing method had me fearing! 😉 (source)

Honey Plum Chicken/Porkhoney plum chicken

…a great way to use up some over-ripe plums. Whole thing was very sweet, and yet the ginger totally stopped it being cloying. Loved it surprisingly much, so tried it with pork, which also worked brilliantly. (source)

Leave a Reply

